Welcome to Nexon Europe.

If this is your first visit, You will have to register before you can post.

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 21 to 29 of 29
  1. #21
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    97

    Re: ERROR: Cannot launch child process (code: 14001)

    Quote Originally Posted by RetroLink View Post
    which antivirus are you using?

    I once had this error, it was from AVG's resident shield. You will have to add exception paths in your antivirus program to the WR Directory (C:\Nexon\WarRock EU\) and remove WarRock.exe from quarantine (if it is there)
    ...I have trend micro officescan but it is irrelevant because I completely uninstalled the av and disabled firewall and then reinstalled wr and tried to run it...so it has nothing to do with firewall or av. On top of it a couple months ago I was installing and playing wr fine with the exact same av. This has nothing to do with the av..its the os (windows xp, service pack 2) and some update that happened in April (I played this game fine in March)

    Regardless I even tried doing what you mentioned as well (adding it to the exceptions on the av-where i added wrlauncher and wrupdater as exceptions in the av and firewall, and still got the same error).
    Last edited by dalycans2; 05-05-2013 at 03:46.

  2. #22
    Advanced Member
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    1,260

    Re: ERROR: Cannot launch child process (code: 14001)

    Quote Originally Posted by dalycans2 View Post
    maybe its our specs + some update they did in april? i have windows xp 2002, service pack 2. you?
    can you try with installing sp3?
    xp sp3 is out of windows support april 8 2014, but that shouldn't be an issue at all.
    it could be an issue with visual C++, so you could try that as well
    La pensée ne doit jamais se soumettre, ni à un dogme, ni à un parti, ni à une passion, ni à un intérêt, ni à une idée préconçue, ni à quoi que ce soit, si ce n'est aux faits eux-mêmes, parce que, pour elle, se soumettre, ce serait cesser d'être (Henri Poincaré)

  3. #23
    Newcomer
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    1

    Re: ERROR: Cannot launch child process (code: 14001)

    I had the same problem, i just rebooted my computer, it worked for me.

  4. #24
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    97

    Re: ERROR: Cannot launch child process (code: 14001)

    Quote Originally Posted by Higgstrohm View Post
    can you try with installing sp3?
    xp sp3 is out of windows support april 8 2014, but that shouldn't be an issue at all.
    it could be an issue with visual C++, so you could try that as well
    Thank you for a reply. I will try both, though I doubt they will do anything. I have literally played wr for years with this exact configuration and I reset my computer to factory settings, so I really don't think it is something I can change on my part. And like I said everything was working fine in late March.

  5. #25
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    97

    Re: ERROR: Cannot launch child process (code: 14001)

    I dled windows xp sp3 and restarted, and I got the same error. Then I dled the visual c++, and now when I click play I am getting no error but instead the window just closes and warrock doesn't launch.

  6. #26
    Advanced Member
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    1,260

    Re: ERROR: Cannot launch child process (code: 14001)

    from old tech issues sicky:

    2.6 Game not starting after pressing [ok] twice / manual HS update
    Check whether there is maintenance going on. There should be an announcement on forums in general discussion. If servers seem to be up nevertheless;
    1. Disable any kind of AV that may be blocking Warrock cfr.3.2 and following
    2. Manually update Hackshield;
    1-Go to C:\Program Files > Gamers First > WarRock > Data > HShield > Update
    2- Then right click on "Autoupprogram" and run it as administrator
    3- Then when the window pops up, click "Start Update", This will manually update your Hack Shield
    4- Once done, simply start warrock, let it patch, play

    additional #2;
    reboot your modem/internet/router. this is done by plugging them out and leave power off for about 20 seconds.
    plug back in..

    additional #3;
    reset your hosts file;
    1. Click Start, click Run, type %systemroot% \system32\drivers\etc, and then click OK. (64 bit version of Windows, type %systemroot% \SysWOW64\drivers\etc.)
    2. Rename the hosts file to hosts.bak.
    3. Create the new default hosts file. To do this, follow these steps:
    1. Right-click an open space in the %WinDir%\system32\drivers\etc folder, point to New, click Text Document, type hosts, and then press ENTER.
    2. Click Yes to confirm that the file name extension will not be txt.
    3. Open the new created hosts file in a text editor, for example, in the Notepad.
    4. Copy the following text to the file:

    For Windows XP
    # Copyright (c) 1993-1999 Microsoft Corp.
    #
    # This is a sample HOSTS file used by Microsoft TCP/IP for Windows.
    #
    # This file contains the mappings of IP addresses to host names. Each
    # entry should be kept on an individual line. The IP address should
    # be placed in the first column followed by the corresponding host name.
    # The IP address and the host name should be separated by at least one
    # space.
    #
    # Additionally, comments (such as these) may be inserted on individual
    # lines or following the machine name denoted by a '#' symbol.
    #
    # For example:
    #
    # 102.54.94.97 rhino.acme.com # source server
    # 38.25.63.10 x.acme.com # x client host

    127.0.0.1 localhost
    For Windows Vista
    # Copyright (c) 1993-2006 Microsoft Corp.
    #
    # This is a sample HOSTS file used by Microsoft TCP/IP for Windows.
    #
    # This file contains the mappings of IP addresses to host names. Each
    # entry should be kept on an individual line. The IP address should
    # be placed in the first column followed by the corresponding host name.
    # The IP address and the host name should be separated by at least one
    # space.
    #
    # Additionally, comments (such as these) may be inserted on individual
    # lines or following the machine name denoted by a '#' symbol.
    #
    # For example:
    #
    # 102.54.94.97 rhino.acme.com # source server
    # 38.25.63.10 x.acme.com # x client host

    127.0.0.1 localhost
    ::1 localhost
    For Windows 7


    # Copyright (c) 1993-2006 Microsoft Corp.
    #
    # This is a sample HOSTS file used by Microsoft TCP/IP for Windows.
    #
    # This file contains the mappings of IP addresses to host names. Each
    # entry should be kept on an individual line. The IP address should
    # be placed in the first column followed by the corresponding host name.
    # The IP address and the host name should be separated by at least one
    # space.
    #
    # Additionally, comments (such as these) may be inserted on individual
    # lines or following the machine name denoted by a '#' symbol.
    #
    # For example:
    #
    # 102.54.94.97 rhino.acme.com # source server
    # 38.25.63.10 x.acme.com # x client host

    # localhost name resolution is handle within DNS itself.
    # 127.0.0.1 localhost
    # ::1 localhost



    5.Save and close the file.
    or
    autofix it with MSFixit50267



    2.7 Warrock does not open

    Warrock stops reacting on the new updater window. Current bar is red, total is not moving.
    1.open (my) computer/explorer, click "tools" > Folder options > view-tab (for vista it's under organize>folder and Search options)
    2.select "show hidden files and folders" and deselect "hide extensions" in the advanced settings > click apply
    3.open the warrock folder (normally C:\Program Files\GamersFirst\War Rock)
    4.rightclick version.cfg, select properties > uncheck [read only] and open it with a text-editor (notepad will do)
    5.you should get something like

    [PATCH INFOMATION]
    Format = 0
    Launcher = 16
    Updater = 27
    Client = 31
    Sub = 0
    Option = 0
    [/PATCH INFOMATION]




    7.change that to

    [PATCH INFOMATION]
    Format =
    Launcher =
    Updater = 27
    Client =
    Sub =
    Option =
    [/PATCH INFOMATION]


    8.save the changes
    9.relaunch
    10.if that did not work, delete the version.cfg file and restart

    <update 07/07/10;WARNING;editing version cfg is now discouraged; doing this may NOT allow you to connect to the servers, also if you do this you will have to uninstall War Rock, redownload and install War Rock again from Gamersfirst LIVE! So don't do it!>

    additional fixes
    not sure if it works for everyone, but worth a try;
    1.Right click "my computer" and hit properties, Click Advanced.
    2.Under the "performance" section press "settings."
    3.Click the tab for Data Execution Prevention.
    4.Check the "turn on DEP for all programs and services except those I select") and add WRUpdater, WarRock, and HSUpdate to the list.

    additional;
    reboot your modem/internet/router. this is done by plugging them out and leave power off for about 20 seconds.
    plug back in..
    additional;
    make sure your firewall is not blocking warrock/Hackshield
    La pensée ne doit jamais se soumettre, ni à un dogme, ni à un parti, ni à une passion, ni à un intérêt, ni à une idée préconçue, ni à quoi que ce soit, si ce n'est aux faits eux-mêmes, parce que, pour elle, se soumettre, ce serait cesser d'être (Henri Poincaré)

  7. #27
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    65

    Re: ERROR: Cannot launch child process (code: 14001)

    Quote Originally Posted by Higgstrohm View Post
    can you try with installing sp3?
    xp sp3 is out of windows support april 8 2014, but that shouldn't be an issue at all.
    it could be an issue with visual C++, so you could try that as well
    i did every thing as dalycans2 and downloaded that visual C++ but the same thing ill try now to reinstall it and reinstall warrock it could work then.

  8. #28
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    12

    Re: ERROR: Cannot launch child process (code: 14001)

    i solve my problem in this way , just install c++ the 2008 version microsoft c++ redistributable x86 and all start to work , make an exception in tha antivirus and all run fine , try maybe solve your problem ,

  9. #29
    Newcomer
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    1

    Re: ERROR: Cannot launch child process (code: 14001)

    i was also facing this problem simply uninstall the game delete all warrock files and then download with the client given in the download option yuor prblm will be solved.

 

 
Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •